Bloodline: An Interview With Actor, Bill Kelly

Calling all Bloodline fans! I was fortunate enough to have had the opportunity to interview Kentucky native, Bill Kelly, about his experience playing the role of DEA agent “Clay Grunwald” on the first season of the hit Netflix drama series that just concluded its final season this past spring. Throughout the interview, Bill discusses his role, reminisces about his time on the show, and offers a glimpse into what it was like to be a part of such an incredible journey.

Series Scoop: Tell me a little bit about your experience playing the character of Clay Grunwald on the first season of Bloodline

Bill Kelly: Playing Clay was the most incredible experience of my acting career so far! Working with Kyle (Chandler) and Enrique (Murciano) was fantastic as they are both great actors and both very fun to be around.

MV5BMTAwOTE4MzgyMTleQTJeQWpwZ15BbWU4MDUyNTAzMTgx._V1_
Kelly (right) with Murciano in Bloodline – Photo Credit: IMDb

SS: What did you like most about your character?

BK: Clay is a very no-nonsense kind of guy who is always at work….always looking at the different angles of a case. I think Clay may have had some ideas that something wasn’t right with the Rayburns but couldn’t put his finger on what it was. Especially since John was sooo good at misdirection.

SS: Do you have a favorite moment from the show, either on camera or off?

BK: On camera, it would have to be Clay and Marco interrogating John (Season 1, episode 13) about what happened to Danny. That was a really great scene. You could cut the tension with a knife. My favorite moment off camera happened while we were shooting that very same scene. We had to do a lot of retakes because of the word, “seersucker”! Awesome day on set!

MV5BNjUwNzI5NzkzMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNTY0NDE0NjE@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,1333,1000_AL_
Kelly (left) on set with Kyle Chandler – Photo Credit: IMDb

SS: What is your favorite episode of the series?

BK: Wow…hard to put a finger on just one. The cast is incredible, so pinpointing one episode as a favorite is impossible. Every single lead actor gave fantastic performances. Kyle, Ben, Linda, Norbert, Jamie, Sissy, Enrique, Chloe, Owen….all of them. Top notch work. I’m very proud to have been a part of that magic.

SS: Have you watched the final season? If so, what are your thoughts?

BK: Yes, I have! I loved it! The writing for all three seasons drew me in as a fan completely, so by the time season three came out, I had a sense of guilt midway through….like I had done something wrong! (lol!) I was totally immersed in the Rayburn family secrets!

SS: What was it like being on set with such incredible acting legends like Sissy Spacek and Sam Shepard?

BK: I met Sissy a couple of times and she is just a fantastic person! So incredibly nice and talented. We didn’t have any scenes together, but being in the same series with her is a huge honor for me. I’m blessed. So, so blessed.

SS: If you could play the role of one character other than your own, who would you choose?

BK: None. I was so blown away by everyone’s performances that there’s no way I would even come close to what they’ve achieved.

After seeing the work of Bill Kelly in Bloodline and History Channel’s SIX, I beg to differ! This man is going to go very far in his career, and I for one can’t wait to watch. This interview was an honor and a privilege, and I hope you all enjoy it as much as I did!

 

 

Photo Credit (Featured Image): IMDb

Leave a Reply

