NBC Welcomes Fourth Chicago Installment, Chicago Justice

By now I am sure you are more than familiar with the Chicago Trilogy on NBC. The multitude of spinoffs began in 2012 with the first drama of the series, Chicago Fire. After the introduction of Jason Beghe’s character, Hank Voight, in Chicago Fire’s first season, NBC saw a market for a potential series spinoff, and so in January of 2014, Chicago P.D. was born. However, that wasn’t all. Considering so many of the cases on both Chicago Fire and Chicago P.D. result in a trip to the hospital, NBC saw an opportunity for yet another Chicago spinoff, Chicago Med, which premiered in 2015. Now, in 2017, the fourth installment of the One Chicago series, Chicago Justice, premieres tomorrow night (Wednesday, March 1) as part of the biggest Chicago crossover event in history, joining together all four shows in a three hour mega-episode.

I began watching Chicago Fire when it premiered during its first season. I was still feeling the loss of Rescue Me from the year before and all of a sudden, here came an all new firefighter drama. While very different from Rescue Me, I enjoyed watching Chicago Fire because it was the perfect way to spend my Tuesday nights. When Hank Voight’s character was introduced in season 1 and I then found out that he would be the lead in the Chicago P.D. spinoff, I was very intrigued because he was first introduced as a villain. How was he now supposed to be the Sergeant of a police unit? As a result, I began watching Chicago P.D. Again, I really enjoyed it. I then heard the news of the next spinoff, Chicago Med. I was a bit surprised by yet another spinoff of the same series, but I did enjoy both prior shows and so Chicago Med became the next series on my weekly DVR. That’s the thing about these: they do so many crossovers where the characters intersect across multiple of the shows that you really have to watch all of them in order to fully understand the story and the characters. Watch one, watch them all – that’s just the way it goes.

Photo Credit: Pinterest
Photo Credit: Pinterest

Personally, I felt that the introduction of a third spinoff series was a bit excessive, not because I didn’t want to watch another Chicago show, but because I didn’t want it to ruin the already existing shows. After all, sometimes too much of a good thing can no longer be good anymore. I hope that this isn’t the case because the shows that are part of the Chicago series are really great shows. With characters like Fire’s Kelly Severide, P.D.’s Hank Voight, and Med’s Dr. Daniel Charles, the stories are engaging and the action exciting. I’m looking forward to getting to know the characters of this new addition and seeing how they integrate into the dynamic between the other three shows.

Chicago dramas dominate the current NBC lineup making up roughly 30% of the network’s nighttime serial dramas. Why you ask? Because they are good shows and they are done right. I have no doubt that Chicago Justice will be just as successful as the others and will be a great addition. It seems like it is the last piece of the puzzle that will fully represent the heroes of the Chicago community. I very much enjoy each show and am looking forward to the introduction of Chicago Justice. However, I’m most looking forward to tomorrow’s three-hour crossover event. When NBC does a crossover, they do it big and tomorrow night will be the biggest yet. All four shows will come together for one epic night, and I can’t wait.

Following tomorrow’s premiere, Chicago Justice will assume its weekly spot airing Sunday nights at 9 PM, alongside Chicago Fire on Tuesdays at 10 PM, Chicago P.D. on Wednesdays at 10 PM, and Chicago Med on Thursdays at 9 PM.

As a viewer, I’m curious to see how Chicago Justice will measure up against its fellow Chicago comrades. I started this journey from the beginning and I plan to see it through until the very end.

 

Photo Credit: Pinterest

 

Leave a Reply

