Sons of Anarchy

What better way to officially start my blog than to introduce you to my all time favorite TV show, Sons of Anarchy. I have always loved television, but it wasn’t until I watched Sons that I realized that this was my passion. I wanted to work in television. Ever since then I’ve been on a one-way track to achieving my goal and I owe it all to SOA. For that, I will be forever grateful. The hit FX drama ran for 7 seasons, from 2008 to 2014, and while it may have ended a little over two years ago, it lives forever in my heart.

What starts as the story of a man trying to uphold his father’s legacy in their beloved motorcycle club, while also juggling his role of fatherhood, transforms into an incredible journey of self-discovery and the unbreakable bonds of family. On the surface, it may look like an action-packed, male-centered, violent and gratuitous crime drama that pushes the limits of what is acceptable to be shown on the FX network. And it is. It’s all of those things, plus some. SOA is surely not for the faint of heart or those who struggle with violence and criminal activity. It’s actually quite brutal. But it is so much more.

Kurt Sutter, the creator of SOA and my idol, once described the show as a love story. Now that may seem hard to believe considering it’s about a group of outlaws who commit crime after crime and do truly terrible things. However, I can tell you without an ounce of doubt in my heart that it’s the truth. Sons of Anarchy is one of the most incredible love stories I have ever seen. It is intense, raw, emotional, and will rip your heart out time and time again. Nevertheless, it’s that passion that will keep you invested for every minute of each of its 92 episodes. In a show that is void of a moral compass, love is what proves time and time again to be SOA’s true north.

At its core, Sons is about family, loyalty, and brotherhood. What makes it so captivating is its incredible storytelling and characters. In my opinion, the true test of a show is whether or not I believe the characters and can root for them. Sons does this better than anyone. Its ability to take a group of criminals who commit reprehensible crimes and make the audience fall in love with them and believe in them is one of the things that impresses me most and is what sets SOA in a category of its own. It sheds a whole new light on the term “antihero.”  The characters develop such a sense of love and devotion to one another that shines through in each and every episode. Never will you see a show that features more male love and affection. These men are as tough as they come; yet, they hug, kiss, cry, and express more emotion than any other men on TV. Before you know it, they will weave their way directly into your heart and make you feel things you never thought were possible from fictional characters. At least that’s what they did for me.

If you have yet to see Sons, please do. You will not regret it, I promise. Thanks to Netflix and other streaming services, you can catch up anytime, anywhere and I highly recommend that you do because it’s an experience you will never forget. Sons of Anarchy is haunting and heart-wrenching, but it is a beautiful story and I am thankful everyday because it changed my life. If you haven’t seen it, watch it. And if you have, watch it again. And, oh yeah, thank you, Kurt Sutter. For everything.

 

Photo Credit: Official Sons of Anarchy Twitter Page https://twitter.com/SonsofAnarchy

 

Leave a Reply

